Climbing Out

I’m still climbing out of this morass. A photo of someone climbing out of a storm sewer is probably a tad over the top as metaphor– things aren’t that bad. I thought I had named my beautiful new puppy today, but the name I chose does’t quite fit her. Oh well, maybe tomorrow. I did more walking today than I expected and I’m a little stiff and sore, but I don’t mind that, it reminds me that I’m alive. It was good to be moving.

Tomorrow I’m going swimming with my friend Martha (I don’t think I’ve said a sentence like that since high school) and I am enthusiastic. It doesn’t really bother me to appear in public in my swimsuit. I bought the suit a couple of years ago from Lands’ End and it is really a good one. Plus I live in Ohio, where the regular physique tends towards Rubenesque. Many Ohio gents look like they’re shoplifting bowling balls. Or a small bean bag chair.

Also, I went to the grocery store and stocked up on the staples of my life: cottage cheese, romaine lettuce, watermelon, Brown Cow full fat cream top yogurt (I love that stuff) some yellow squash. And a beach towel for tomorrow. (“This is not a bath towel,” I said to my husband, holding the towel up for him to see. “And it is definitely not a dog towel. Or a car towel. Or a floor towel.” I bought some Vitamin E to put on a boo-boo on the pup’s face and then I found myself looking at Vitamin B12. In liquid form– 5000 mcg. It’s something like 80,000 times the RDA. So I bought it, and tomorrow I’ll try it.

When my stepfather was practicing medicine in Florida, a lot of his geriatric patients used to come to him seeking B12 shots, the elixir of youth, or something. Anyway, it’s worth a try. Even if it just makes me feel more cheerful about slogging along through this, that will be something.

Target number 55. Steps today: 6501. For breakfast: two hard-boiled eggs, yogurt with granola, glass of v-8.  Lunch was three Lean Cuisine spring rolls (really not bad at all, I’m surprised at how good they were) and another hard-boiled egg. Dinner was a cheeseburger and two cups of watermelon.

One thought on “Climbing Out

Leave a Reply

