The Sun Comes Up in the Morning

A Morning Walk, by John Singer Sargent

Just as there are bad days, and despair and deep gloom that settle upon me, the sun also comes up in the morning. This was an altogether pleasant day– no migraine, no spinning the wheels. (Plenty of time for that tomorrow.) Instead, I drove with a friend out to western Ohio, walked some fields around the fairgrounds and then made our way over the state line to Richmond, Indiana. Did you know that Hoagy Carmichael’s original recording of “Stardust” was made in Richmond? No? Well, now you do.

It was lobster bisque and Caesar salad for lunch. It’s a favorite restaurant, but the service was lackluster today. Enough so, that I might call a manager tomorrow. I asked for anchovies on the salad, I didn’t get them. Drinks weren’t refilled. No one offered dessert. It wasn’t enough to ruin the day, but I wonder if I’d never been to Galo’s before if I’d want to go back, despite the fact that the food was excellent, even without anchovies.

We drifted across town to the other contender for lunch, Ghyslain and went shopping at the adjacent boutique, Coco’s. I found a great illustrated sign featuring  a woman wearing feathers, and a zebra, under the legend “Perhaps this very instant is your time.”  I bought it and now it’s sitting on my desk waiting for me to hang it on the wall.

Ghyslain is known for their chocolate– we split a mousse, with an excellent cup of coffee. All day I felt like singing. It’s a wonderful thing when your head stops hurting.  Here comes the sun, and I say, it’s alright. We can only hope tomorrow will go so well.

Target number 55. Steps today 6193. Watermelon for breakfast. Lobster bisque, Caesar salad and foccaccia for lunch. Half a serving of chocolate mousse. Five ounces of roast pork for dinner and another cup of watermelon. Yogurt with granola.

Leave a Reply

