Closed for the Night

For ninety minutes, I have sat here at my desk, not writing. There are things I intend to write about, but I just don’t want to write about them now. I am still wrangling that notion of my most un-interesting life and why I persist in writing about it. But you’re here, so that means something, perhaps. This is making me think about the scene in Wings of Desire, where Peter Falk (as angel-who-has-become-mortal) is talking to Bruno Ganz, an angel who has yet to  take the plunge. Maybe that’s what blogging is really like, when you think about it. A one-sided conversation with someone you presume-think-hope is there, listening.

Today I started on the birthday cake for my Grandmother’s 96th birthday. That itself is topic enough, but not tonight, Gracie. Watching my son slip a Coke can into the trash with one eyebrow raised, I am reminded that I was at some point going to write about the evils of soda. My heart’s not really in it though. I know the stuff isn’t good for you, but some days there’s nothing like the sweet fizz over ice. There’s still that Bad Diet Advice that is hanging around out there. It’s a mystery to me what kind of posts draw traffic. Those that I think are informative and entertaining sometimes sit completely neglected. Others, slapped together with a minimum of coherence inspire pingbacks and comments and lively discussions. Go figure.

I can’t see you but I know you’re here. 

It’s just that I need to sleep. I’ve packed as much into this Thursday (well into Friday now) as I can and it’s time for me to call it a day. Friday has more capers with cake, some last-minute administrative stuff with Julian’s high school, the wrap-up of a 12-page newsletter and in the midst of all that, a gathering at a local cemetery to mark the 100th anniversary of Wilbur Wright’s funeral.  I think my friend Martha might even wear a veil. And here is it, nigh on three a.m. So I’m putting out the neon and turning the sign that hangs on the door. We’re closed for the night, but come back tomorrow. Maybe there’ll be pie.

Target number 56. Steps 6592. Breakfast banana and two cups watermelon. Lunch: a cup of tomato soup, and ounce of cheese, an ounce of dark chocolate with dried ginger. Much later, a Ritz “crackerfull”. Six ounces of raspberries, a few pretzel crackers , and a slice of pizza.

4 thoughts on “Closed for the Night

  1. I struggle with this as well – who am I to write a blog and expect people to read it? I think bloggin is like AA. You come in, share your experience, strength, and hope and discover you are not alone. I get new ideas, a new perspective.

    I become a part of…

Leave a Reply

