Walking to Lafayette

If I’d started walking ten weeks ago when I began this project, I’d just about be to Lafayette, Indiana. With all due respect to the good folks at Purdue, and the other residents of that fair Hoosier city, Lafayette is not where I want to be. I should be farther by now. After the first four weeks, I changed my projected number of steps from 30,000 a week to 40,000 a week. I could be wrong, but I think I have yet to meet that goal, even once. Worse, I’ve become somewhat lackadaisical about even making the original 30,000. This week I fell short by 841 steps.

Yes, I’m tired, yes I’m discouraged, yes, yes, yes. My friend Lee would be the first to remind me that I am far, far, farther along than if I’d never set out at all. But I think it’s time to take this more seriously again, and to be more disciplined in meeting the goals. I’ve been drifting since the last weekend in April, and it’s very nearly the last weekend in May.

I woke up puffy and bloated again this morning, hooray. I did get to the health food store to pick up more Horse Chestnut extract, and also some dandelion tea. I’d considered capsules, but you are supposed to take 8 of them a day. It’s all I can do to choke down the wet-stick Horse chestnut. So I guess I’ll try the tea; if it’s too dreadful, I can always add bourbon.  I haven’t tried it yet. The grocery store yielded all those foods that are said to be natural diuretics: watermelon, avocado, celery, citrus, bananas, cranberry juice. If I make a steady diet of them, tomorrow’s post may be from the loo.

Maybe next week I can walk as far as Chicago.

This week’s tally.

The target number for today is 60. I walked 5598 steps.

Number of pounds to lose this week: 2

Number of pounds lost this week: -4

Cumulative number to have lost by this point: 20

Actual cumulative number lost: 20

Number of steps to have walked: 40,000

Actual number of steps walked: 29,059

Cumulative number to have walked: 300,000

Cumulative number walked: 386,362   (146 miles!)

Consumed today at breakfast: yogurt with granola, cinnamon roll, lunch was a chopped green salad with chicken, avocado, hard-boiled egg, dinner was homemade chicken fajitas. Lots of water today, and an unsweetened iced tea. Had a Woodhouse dark chocolate disguised to look like an asparagus stalk. It was worth it.
4 thoughts on “Walking to Lafayette

  1. I feel much the same way Larkin – I think the ebbs and flows are normal, but the thing a love about doing this all as a community is that I do indeed ebb rather than stop moving altogether.

    Maybe one of us will win the lottery (well, not me because I can’t gamble)and we will create an app that shows how far we are moving…

    My stats are all sorts of messed up from hurting my feet and knee…but I am still here – your struggle inspires me as much as your successes.

    • Today would have been great for tennis, heck. But I thought I was going boating, and then I didn’t go, because we’re going tomorrow. Dog shows over the weekend, but nothing after Memorial Day. (I can wear my whites, lol.)

Leave a Reply

