Leisure Hours

“Clover” (1934) by Tateishi Harumi

I think I’ve taken the week off. I kept thinking as each day drew to a close that the next day I would find my reserve and spring forward with this experiment. I thought I would get on with all of the things piled up on my “to-do” list. I did not. It’s Thursday, the week is nearly done and I have accomplished very little.  It’s not that I’ve been sitting around eating bon-bons. I’ve had stuff to attend to– a remarkable number of hours have been spent wrangling something for my son to wear to prom. We rented a tuxedo, but when it arrived, it made him look like a stick figure in a bag. We ended up with a full refund and bought a black suit instead– one that fits his long, elegant frame. There have been many, many hours on the telephone in verbal post-mortems of the show.  I took the dog to the vet. I launched my mother back to South Carolina, I took Julian to his cello lesson and I tried to sort out the stacks of stuff left in my wake.

But I did not really get any exercise. I certainly did not get finished with the written project which is now six weeks overdue (yikes) and I have been more lackadaisical in my eating habits. Nonetheless, I’ve decided not to fret. I am just going to rest up, relax and be ready to start back with a vengeance on Monday. Or tomorrow.

Target number today 60. Steps walked 3445. Consumed yogurt with granola, gingerbread cookie, spinach salad with mandarin oranges, strawberries and salmon, iced tea,  bread pudding, grilled tilapia, breadstick, 1/8th cup of rice, 1/4 cup steamed vegetable, lemonade.

2 thoughts on “Leisure Hours

Leave a Reply

