Dog Tired


This morning I awoke about five a.m., feeling exhausted to the bone and filled with dread at the prospect of rising. Then I remembered that the show is done, and I could sleep in. I rearranged my pillow, curled up next to my husband and went promptly back to sleep. Even so, the fatigue dogs me today, and it seems I didn’t get much accomplished. We did go to the formal wear store to get Julian kitted out for the prom on Friday. Ouch. When did formal wear rentalstart to cost more than a really nice pair of shoes?  At a fabric store, my mother found green gingham to make kitchen curtains. We took back the stanchions and velvet rope and 18 linen tablecloths to the party rental store.

This weekend was the Fort St. Clair Kennel Club dog show. I’m the show chair, the grand poohbah of all things related to the show. The Milk Bone Stops Here. It’s a real labor of love for me, and the days leading up to it are frantic with activity and anxiousness. Friday is always the worst, trying to finish every last possible thing before Saturday morning at 9 a.m. when the national anthem plays and the show starts. Saturday is crazy busy, and always an incredibly long day as there is a dinner with the judges after– and still those last-minute details to attend to for Sunday. But by the time Sunday rolls around, it steams along under its own power pretty well. Then it all comes to an end and there’s a frantic tear-down to transform the Expo Center back into a pumpkin. The show went fantastically well, with about 850 dogs present.

I am always a little sad when it is over– it feels like my legs are still running that race without me. But it is also true that I was so glad to have a day nearly devoid of responsibility or schedule. Soon enough, I’ll have to crank it all up again for next year’s big shindig.

Okay, it’s Monday again, time once again to tally up.

The target number for today is 59. I walked 4390 steps.

Number of pounds to lose this week: 2

Number of pounds lost this week: 4

Cumulative number to have lost by this point: 14

Actual cumulative number lost: 21!

Number of steps to have walked: 40,000

Actual number of steps walked: 46,446

Cumulative number to have walked: 240,000

Cumulative number walked: 307060   (116 miles!)

You know what this means? Yes, I’m off the plateau! Hooray! And, I get Prize Number Two for accomplishing a 20+ pound loss. Tune in tomorrow for the reveal.

Consumed today: 2 beignets, banana, yogurt with granola, half a flour tortilla with chicken salad. One Esther Price chocolate. 3 slices pizza: white sauce, chicken, spinach and bacon.

4 thoughts on “Dog Tired

  1. I wish I could have contributed in some way, but I know it just isn’t my time to be able to do that. I still wear that beard of guilt though.

    I want to come over and use your scale. You are allowed to watch – I don’t care. Pounds are meaningless when you have multiple chins and chafing thighs.

    My tip o’the day: Get dolmas at the Mediterranean bar at Kroger and whatever else you want. Five per meal plus some other noshy stuff like olives, and well, other shit off the Mediterranean bar. Everybody is leery of the Baba Ganoush because it tastes too good. The rumor is that if you request the ingredients it actually has MAYONNAISE in it! Horrors. LOL.

    I’ve had a tumultuous time here myself. Can’t wait to catch up with you. That dog show is probably like a five-ring circus. You can’t even possibly know all of the individual dramas taking place. I can only imagine.

    Ha ha! Prom sucks, don’t it! I hardly saw Benny in his tux and still haven’t gotten the pictures I tried to insist on buying.

    Strange days indeed.

  2. Almost forgot – I heat the dolmas in the microwave on reheat. I really think they are better warm. I am seriously addicted. I thought it was bad when they were cold but now that I nuke ’em? Wow.

  3. Good news on the plateau. What portion of the shows I saw looked great. There were a few speed bumps (and her initials are. . . .) but you survived. Congratulations on a job well done! 😀

Leave a Reply

