Measure for Measure

I have too much on my plate and none of it is food. I’m responsible for a major event set to start in 31 hours. This morning I woke up in blind panic. Then I thought, “Oh wait, I still have another day.”  Now this day is done, and the last day of preparation is rising. It’s astounding to me how long everything takes. I keep crossing things off the list, but it’s like treading water, I don’t feel like I’m making much progress. Or maybe that’s the allegory for this metamorphosis.

Imagine my surprise, when yesterday I didn’t walk the requisite steps or even pay much attention, and this morning the scale said I weighed two pounds less. I was so befuddled, I stepped off and on the scale several times to see if it was a fluke. Apparently not. Watch, tomorrow I’ll weigh six pounds more or something. Not to worry, I’ll take this loss, wherever it comes from, and celebrate.

This project is so all consuming, that I really don’t have time to even walk on the treadmill. Still, it wouldn’t surprise me if I make the weekly total anyway as Friday, Saturday and Sunday I am going to be hoofin’ it.  Time will reveal all.

So, down 19 pounds, and . . . wait for it . . . eleven inches.

A number of weight-loss bloggers suggest measuring rather than weighing, or at least in addition to. Though I feel compelled to step on the scale every single cotton-pickin’ day, I decided I would only measure once a month. Since March 26, I have lost 3 inches off my chest, 4 inches off my waist, and four inches off my ass. Yay, me. This is real progress and I’ll take it. I did refigure all the body fat calculators and while they all agree that the number is smaller– the actual results are all over the map, so it’s really not that useful, but I’m at least I know I’m going in the right direction.

. . .

Target number today an astounding 61. Walking all over two counties: 4929. Consumed yogurt with granola, 5 tortilla chips with two tablespoons of salsa, Cozumel Salad (grilled shrimp, avocado and crema on a bed of lettuce.) Tecate beer. 3 Sunkist orange candies, 6 jelly-belly citrus jelly beans.

3 thoughts on “Measure for Measure

Leave a Reply

