Running on Empty

Home late, after driving two orphaned Boston Terriers to Indianapolis to be fostered. They’ve been with us since Wednesday. Their person, a lovely woman, died on Monday. They are a little shell-shocked, still confused and full of grief. I believe they will be cossetted until their new forever home is found. When they jumped into Beth’s car, though, they did not look back really, and that’s a good thing. Still, we’ll miss them here, the ladies.

It’s a hell-on-wheels sort of week coming up. I don’t know if I will have the energy tomorrow to get up and go show our setter at a dog show half-way across the state, but I’m going to try. I am curious to see if I find it less taxing to sail around the ring with her.  Saturday of next week marks our own kennel club’s show, of which I am ostensibly the Grand Pooh-bah. My chief partner-in-crime is the club president. She keeps telling me that everything seems like it’s in good shape. I keep remembering things I still have to do.

All of this is leading up to saying I don’t know how much writing I’ll get done this week. It may be all I can do to keep steps and consumption and target numbers recorded. But I will try.

I loved this song when I was in high school on the tiny island province of Prince Edward Island. Which is kind of funny because other than occasionally being allowed to drive the lime green Volkswagen that belonged to my then boyfriend, or swanning around in my mother’s boat of a Chrysler stationwagon, I wasn’t logging too many miles. What did I know, I was seventeen. Perhaps it was foreshadowing, because I’ve sure racked up the miles since, running into the sun.

Looking out at the road rushing under my wheels,

I don’t know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

I look around for the friends that I used to turn to pull me through, 

Looking into their eyes, I see them running too.

Running on, running on empty,

running on, running blind, 

running on, running into the sun

But I’m running behind. 

Target number 63.  Steps today 6065.  For breakfast: hard boiled egg and glass of v-8. Lunch: cup of chicken tortilla soup, half a grilled chicken breast, green salad, quarter cup chopped fruit, pretzel for a snack, dinner was a cup and a half of gumbo (and I shared much of the sausage with my slender husband) and half a cup banana pudding, because life is too short to not eat banana pudding once in a while.

One thought on “Running on Empty

Leave a Reply

