Reckoning

 

It’s been a long, long, long stressful day– not anything to do with something so mundane as health and wellness, but a huge domestic explosion in our daughter’s life, including her former fiance stealing her car and shooting at her when she went to get it back. Did I mention that he was drunk? Or that he’d called me six times today?  It’s nearly two a.m. and I just now am getting off the phone.

Trying to squeeze too much in, I rushed around and made a wonderful dinner of steamed mussels, and then, because I was concerned that I’d got so little walking in, went upstairs and tried to boost the numbers on the treadmill. I’d gone seven tenths of a mile before I realized that I felt godawful, so I did the smart thing and stopped.

Cue the Shirrelles: Mama said there’ll be days like this. Not too often, I hope.

Did I mention that when I stepped on the scale this morning I’d “gained” six-tenths of a pound? It’s okay, I laughed. I knew these fluctuations were coming.

Here’s the accounting for the week:

The target number for today is 62. I walked 3248 steps.

Number of pounds to lose this week: 2

Number of pounds lost this week: 4.8!

Cumulative number to have lost by this point: 6

Actual cumulative number lost: 18!

Number of steps to have walked: 30,000

Actual number of steps walked: 41,406

Cumulative number to have walked: 90,000

Cumulative number walked: 138,282   (52.24 miles!)

Today’s repast: banana, half-cup cottage cheese, grapes, 4 dried apricots, half-cup rice pudding with nutmeg (I love nutmeg), mussels in a cilantro-lime-garlic-sriracha cream sauce, and a half-cup of lemon sorbetto.

Tomorrow, thank God, is another day.

2 thoughts on “Reckoning

Leave a Reply

