And I Would Walk 500 Miles

 

Tonight, I added music to the treadmill. I even made a special playlist on the iPod. The time it took to walk a mile and a quarter just sped by, and I remembered how much fun it is to listen to music through headphones. Instead of just background, it becomes your own private soundtrack. When I did this before, many moons ago, I went everywhere with a Sony Walkman. (I think mine was made by Aiwa, but if you’re over 30, you know the beast.) Tonight I walked with my eyes closed, I had more rhythm, I was smiling.

The inaugural playlist looked something like this: Lou Reed, Walk on the Wild Side; Seal, Walk on By; The Bangles, Walk Like an Egyptian; Loretta Lynn, These Boots Were Made for Walking; Fats Domino, Walkin’ to New Orleans; Patsy Cline, Walking After Midnight; James Taylor, Walkin’ Man and The Proclaimers I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles).

Today’s target number is 61.4, and I clocked 7527 steps.

On the menu: two scrambled eggs, spinach salad (with grilled chicken breast, apple, strawberries, bacon and bleu cheese), toasted coconut custard, watermelon and very lightly sweetened iced tea.

Tomorrow for a change of pace, we’re heading to Clifton Gorge. Thanks to everyone for your continued support, this would be much harder without you.

 

2 thoughts on “And I Would Walk 500 Miles

  1. Yes the Proclaimers on my Aiwa! I remember it well. It should be on the A list for every treadmill. And if you really wanted to pick up the pace dust off a couple of old Minutemen songs.

    For those over 70 still using a treadmill might I suggest Nancy Sinatra’s ‘These Boots Are Made For Walking’.

Leave a Reply

