Yikes!

Is that what time it is? I had a very slow start to the day, couldn’t seem to wrestle myself out of bed. Even though I was delighted (and a bit mystified) to find the target number had plummeted another 2.4 pounds to 64.4 when I did finally rise to greet the day.  I don’t know why it was down so much. I know what I’m eating and how much effort I’m putting out. The only unusual thing I’ve added is Horse Chestnut extract which is supposed to stengthen the walls of one’s veins. Maybe that’s working, who knows. The day will come, I know, when I look back at this ruefully and pray for the scale to move.

Because I got a late start, and had a lot of things to look after, I wasn’t all that active. I knew I hadn’t come anywhere close to my 5000 steps. I was about to blow it off and call this my free day, but at 11 p.m. I screwed up my courage and went upstairs and walked a mile-three on the treadmill. So I’m closing out the day with 5259.

It was my intention to write about shoes today and the wondrous process of picking out carrots– that is, rewards. I’m also finding out a lot more about “barefoot running” and though I don’t think I’ll actually go out without shoes, I’m intrigued by the minimalist approach. But I just don’t have it in me tonight, perhaps tomorrow, unless I am similarly distracted.

Today’s delicious nosh: Cherry-Vanilla Brown Cow Yogurt with a quarter-cup granola, and a banana. One ounce of dark chocolate with dried cherries and almonds. (That’s in the chocolate, not in addition to.) Yes, I read the piece yesterday about how thinner people consume more chocolate. It didn’t seem very scientific, but I’ll take it. Sauteed about 3 cups of summer squash for lunch, much enjoyed along with some grilled shrimp. Didn’t really get to dinner. Made do with an apple, a large bowl of melon and a packet of energy-mix nuts. And a ginger Chime.

Thanks to everyone for their encouraging words today. You’re making this possible.

One thought on “Yikes!

  1. I have always been curious about barefoot running – I have heard snatches of conversation about it. It makes sense, we evolved barefoot. Will be interested to hear what you discover.

    Congrats on continual progress!

Leave a Reply

