Half Moon Down

a day of reckoning

It looks like Mondays are going to be the day of accounting. If I’d thought this through, I would have made it Sunday instead, but Monday it was last week, Monday it is today and Monday it shall  be.

So this is where we are.

The target number for today is 66.8. I walked 6435 steps.

Number of pounds to lose this week: 2

Number of pounds lost this week: 5!

Cumulative number to have lost by this point: 4

Actual cumulative number lost: 13.2!

Number of steps to have walked: 30,000

Actual number of steps walked: 36,584

Cumulative number to have walked: 60,000

Cumulative number walked: 96,876   (36.6 miles!)

I hope you will pardon my immodest behavior, but I think I am kicking ass and taking names here. Tonight I wanted to boost the step count a bit so I went for a spin on the treadmill. Before I knew it I had walked three-quarters of a mile at a brisk pace and I did not even feel winded. This is a huge step forward for me. Yay, me!

I know that this bubble, so beautiful and bright, cannot last forever. There will be weeks in which I will not be able to lose an ounce and I will despair. But this is not one of those weeks.

Started the day with scrambled eggs, and a side of blueberries. At midmorning I had half a cup of rice pudding (God bless Kozy Shack for not filling their puddings with all kinds of horrible additives) with a heaping half-teaspoon of fresh ground nutmeg. I love nutmeg. I had a cup of coffee, and a little later, a Coffee Crisp, which I enjoyed immensely. We went out to dinner tonight to Las Piramides and ordered the fantastic La Parillada to share. It’s a heaping mound of grilled onions, peppers, steak, chicken, chorizo, a pork chop, and shrimp. I had three small tortillas filled with various kinds of meat, onions and peppers. It was wonderful, but I was surprised how quickly I felt full, and how when I felt full, I was able to stop eating. Even with the three of us working on it, we still brought home a box full. Had a peppermint, and then later tonight, a ginger Chime. I’m probably a little light on vegetables today, but I’ll have extra tomorrow to make up for it.

And I bought a new pair of shoes, more on that tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Half Moon Down

  1. Awesome! You should be feeling good about yourself! I know I am. All these little steps that we don’t realize we take in the span of a day can really add up and help us out immensely. Then, when you throw walks and the treadmill on top of that, it’s bound to be beneficial. We were on the treadmills again last night (we have two in our “exercise room” downstairs, on the main floor of the building, along with an exercise bike). Here, it’s been blustery and cold out, lately. Not fit for man or beast. I find using the treadmill is better for me. Dave can go at his own pace (which is a bit faster) and so can I. At Weight Watchers meetings, they often talk about not depriving ourselves of our favourite foods and teaches us to make smarter choices, overall, to stay within our points range for the day. And, with most fruit and vegetables being 0 points… well, we’re having fun with that (without going overboard). Dave and I tried to figure out how much fruit and vegetables we’ve eaten in the past couple of months. We lost count. But, we are loving it. 🙂

  2. You are kicking ass! Fantastic progress – I love the foods you eat and how you don’t pepper it with measurements. This is something I so need to do but always thought that I had to have a perfect scale – thank you for showing me another way.

    Celebrate!

  3. You know, it’s people like the two of you, Jan and Lee, that have made this a whole project a joyful situation rather than the litany of drudgery and deprivation that weight loss usually is. Many humble thanks.

Leave a Reply

